Meetings

Share

Meetings are held at 1 pm on the third Saturday of the month in the Community Room at Sisters of Charity Hospital – St. Joseph Campus (2605 Harlem Rd, Cheektowaga, NY), unless otherwise stated. Meetings typically end around 4:30 pm, after our business meeting and workshop.

Guests interested in writing romantic fiction are welcome to attend up to two chapter meetings prior to joining WNYRW. After that, it is $35 to join the chapter with annual dues of $30. All members of WNYRW must also be members of Romance Writers of America.

We have an e-mail loop for announcements, discussion, and other chapter-related business.

Want to join or just find out more information about the chapter or RWA itself? Contact us at wnyrw (at) yahoo (dot) com or check us out on Facebook. We look forward to seeing you!

To view our schedule of online workshops, please go here

2019 Meeting Schedule

January 19 – Why Novelists Should Avoid New Year’s Resolutions, Rosanne Bane (http://www.rosannebane.com)

Been putting off making a New Resolution? Congratulations! Procrastination has finally paid off! Learn the brain science behind why resolutions rarely work and what you should do instead. Workshop attendees will be awarded brain stress balls.

Rosanne Bane is a semi-retired creativity coach and author of Around the Writer’s Block: Using Brain Science to Solve Writer’s Resistance and Dancing in the Dragon’s Den. In more than 25 years teaching at the Loft Literary Center, University of St. Thomas, University of Minnesota and other adult education programs, she has given thousands of writers the tools to bust through blocks, build effective writing habits and achieve their writing dreams and goals.

February 16 – Dark Heart, Damon Suede (http://damonsuede.com)

All characters have pain in their past…a backstory which drives them inexorably into turmoil, jeopardy, and high-stakes choices.  Fatal flaw, motivation, wound, scar, trauma, mistake, shadow, ghost…no matter what you call it, that inner void never stops sucking. Accessing your characters’ darkness and danger dramatizes scenes and maximizes emotional legibility. Join Damon Suede for a two-hour RWA Workshop in a Box which teaches you to tap your story’s power and bring any character to life.

March 16 – Social Media Basics, Jess Topper (http://jesstopper.com) and Stephanie Haefner (http://www.stephaniehaefnerthewriter.com)

You asked for it…you got it! Stephanie Haefner and Jessica Topper tackle Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, and Twitter in a responsive and interactive discussion tailored to our members. Bring your questions and your devices. Let’s get social!

April 27 – Jamie Beck (http://jamiebeck.com)

May 18 – Zoe York (http://www.zoeyork.com)

June 15 – Donna Alward (http://www.donnaalward.com)

JulyRWA National Conference (no meeting)

August – Annual picnic (members only)

September 20-22 – Top Ten Ways to Maximize Your Indie Earnings, Amy Gamet (https://amygamet.com); Annual retreat (members only)

Indie phenom Amy Gamet talks about the top ten ways to maximize your indie earnings. Giddy. Up.

Amy Gamet is the USA Today bestselling author of romantic suspense and small town romance. She lives in upstate New York with her husband and three kids, an endless supply of laundry and a bottomless sink full of dirty dishes.

October 19 – TBA

November 16 – Newsletter Ninja book report, Amanda Usen (https://amandausen.wordpress.com)

A newsletter is an essential part of every author’s platform, but most of us don’t know what to write, how often to send, or where to find new subscribers. Amanda Usen will present her findings after an in depth study and implementation of the suggestions in the massively popular book, Newsletter Ninja by Tammi Labrecque (https://newsletterninja.net).

December – Holiday Party (members only)